Fall/Winter Fashion
48 Comments

Fall Stitch Fix Review / September 2016

Hey guys! Today’s post is a little different. I got a new Fix in the mail this week so I thought I’d do a Stitch Fix Review.

In case you’re not familiar, Stitch Fix is a subscription box service. You’re assigned a personal stylist who gets to know your taste and what you’re looking for. They send you 5 items to try, and you only pay for what you keep. There is a $20 styling fee that gets applied to your purchase, so if you don’t keep anything, you lose it, but I don’t think I’ve ever had a box where I didn’t keep at least one piece.

It’s a fun way to try new things, and some of their brands aren’t sold anywhere else, so you’re not going to go to work and see someone wearing the exact same blouse — unless, of course, they use Stitch Fix too! LOL!!! But that’s never happened to me.


Fall Stitch Fix Review / September 2016: Hand Selected Fashion At Your Doorstep!

Everything in my box was for fall, and I was able to create 3 outfits from it. I love it when everything coordinates! I hate to get a box and love a piece of clothing but have nothing to wear with it, but my stylist sent me a box that all worked together. It even came with shoes, although I didn’t photograph them because they were too small, and I didn’t want to wear them outside to get scuffed up because they’re going back.

The rest of the box was a perfect fit, and I’m having a hard time deciding what to keep and what to decline. You’ll have to let me know what you think. In the interest of full disclosure, I’m not working with Stitch Fix, but I do use my affiliate link when I’m linking to them (as I do when I link to other retailers) so I make a small commission when anyone new signs up.

Let’s get this party started!

Fall Stitch Fix Review

Here’s outfit #1. This is the Collective Concepts Minden Pleat Detail Blouse with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans. The blouse is $68 and the jeans are $88.

September 2016 Fall Stitch Fix Review featuring Collective Concepts Minden Pleat Detail Blouse with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans.

I thought this floral top was really cute for a change, and florals are a hot trend this fall. I love the tab detail on the arm and the placket on the front in the solid blue that matches. As y’all know, I prefer an open neckline, and this is open without being too revealing.

September 2016 Fall Stitch Fix Review featuring Collective Concepts Minden Pleat Detail Blouse with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans.

It has a pretty pleat detail at the back of the neck, and the hem dips in the back, but it’s straight across the front.

September 2016 Fall Stitch Fix Review featuring Collective Concepts Minden Pleat Detail Blouse with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans.

I think I’d like it better if it were a little more structured, but it’s really cute and the relaxed fit is nice for those days when you’re feeling like you could use a little extra grace, if you know what I mean… LOL!

September 2016 Fall Stitch Fix Review featuring Collective Concepts Minden Pleat Detail Blouse with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans.

These jeans go with all three tops they sent me. I love the color, and they have a great fit. The frayed hem and ankle zip are cute details, and they are very flattering. They definitely don’t feel like premium denim, but then they’re $88 and not $188, so there’s that. If I didn’t have the aubergine Paige skinny jeans from the #NSale, I would definitely keep these, but I think the colors are too close to justify keeping both. I actually like this color better than the aubergine, though. It’s brighter, and I can see it being more versatile.

September 2016 Fall Stitch Fix Review featuring Collective Concepts Minden Pleat Detail Blouse with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans.

Next up is the 41Hawthorn Queensland Dolman Jersey Top with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans. Top is $48, and it is soooo stretchy and soft and comfortable. This one is definitely a keeper.

September 2016 Fall Stitch Fix Review featuring 41Hawthorn Queensland Dolman Jersey Top with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans

I like the wide neckline. It’s flattering without being revealing at all. I have another shirt very similar to this that I got from Stitch Fix a year or so ago, and I love it too, but it has a deep V-neck that is flattering, but it’s also a bit of a liability. I have to be careful not to bend over in front anyone lest I give them a peep show! This one is nice because I don’t have that concern. It’s very easy to wear, and I like having several plain black tops in my wardrobe because they go with so much.

September 2016 Fall Stitch Fix Review featuring 41Hawthorn Queensland Dolman Jersey Top with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans

I really like the black paired with these burgundy jeans. Ahhh… I may be talking myself into keeping these jeans after all!

September 2016 Fall Stitch Fix Review featuring 41Hawthorn Queensland Dolman Jersey Top with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans

Finally, this is the RD Style Iana Twisted Seam Sweater for $68, also with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans.

September 2016 Fall Stitch Fix Review featuring RD Style Iana Twisted Seam Sweater with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans

I really love the seam details in this sweater, and the marled knit is always fun. I like how it brings in both tan and grey so you can go either way in your accessories. It’s also super cute with dark wash blue jeans, but I just threw it on with these jeans for this post, and it works with them too.

September 2016 Fall Stitch Fix Review featuring RD Style Iana Twisted Seam Sweater with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans

It’s got a heavy feel to it, so it hangs nicely without clinging. It’s almost too short for me in the front. I wish it didn’t dip quite so much from front to back. It might lay better on someone who isn’t quite so well endowed, ahem. But despite that, I love the knit and the seam detailing so I’m on the fence with this one.

September 2016 Fall Stitch Fix Review featuring RD Style Iana Twisted Seam Sweater with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans

Also shown: Tory Burch ballet flats // Rebecca Minkoff Large Suki Crossbody // Panacea Beaded Circle Pendant // Stella & Dot Becker Cuff and Engravable Disk Necklace // Kate Spade sunnies

By the way, the shoes from Stitch Fix that aren’ t shown are the black SeaVees Baja Calf-Hair Sneakers for $128. They were a half size too small for me, and I wasn’t crazy about the black calf hair — it looked a little too alive for me, lol. I did like the easy slip-on sneaker, though. I wouldn’t mind having a pair of shoes in that style that this fall.

So what do you think??? I’d love to hear which pieces you think I should keep.

And be sure to visit Cyndi and see the fall outfit she’s styling today!

Did you like this post?

Sign up for my Daily Emails, and you’ll never miss a thing! You can also follow along on Instagram for my daily outfits and sneak peeks of what’s to come on the blog. Be sure to register with LIKEtoKNOW.it so you can shop my outfits first! 

This post contains affiliate links. For more information on what that means, see my About Page: Blog Monetization and Disclosure.

Join the Conversation

48 thoughts on “Fall Stitch Fix Review / September 2016

  1. Too funny, I too just received a Stitich Fix and received that very same black top and it was the only keeper for me! I wish I had gotten the jeans however as those look great!
    Your first blouse is not a favorite look for me, on you…and I am on the fence about the grey sweater.
    Have a great day!

  2. Ooh great items! I think the jeans are great. I actually have two pair of jeans in a red similar to this one and a darker color similar to your aubergine and I think they’re different enough to serve different purposes. Go for it! And the black top is great too. I’d keep it and the jeans.

  3. Those jeans are lovely. I like them with all the tops, except the floral one. It is a nice top, but I think it’s a bit ‘too cutie’ on you. Not that you are not cute. But I prefer ‘tougher’ patterns on you, like geometric ones, or no pattern at all. All the other tops you totally rock!

  4. I love the jeans! They really look great on you. I would keep them even if they are similar to your other pair. I also got the black top from Stitch Fix and wear it a lot. Definitely a wardrobe staple. The printed top is beautiful and I would definitely keep it too. You got a great fix! It helps that you always look wonderful in everything ????

  5. I definitely love the jeans. All three tops look so great on you and paired with the jeans, but I’d have to choose the floral and sweater as my favorites. That would be for me though, lol. The black top seems very much you, so I’m sure it would be a great buy. 🙂

  6. In my last fix I got the same hawthorn black top (it’s a good thing we don’t live next to each other ) I kept it as well because it was very flattering, however, I live in Florida and have not worn it yet. I received it in my July Fix. ( I see others received it as well! Must be popular!) . I personally don’t like the zippers on the pants, but I do like the color . The gray sweater and blue blouse are just so so to me. Not bad, but not striking !

  7. I love all these pieces and think they all go great together and look great on you. I may just be heading to find a burgundy pair of jeans after seeing how nice they look!

  8. I really like the gray sweater and jeans on you. The floral top is both boxey and matronly. The black top is also boxey and the color does nothing for you. Girl you are pretty stop wearing the boxey clothes they detract from your God given attributes. I really enjoy your blog. Thanks for taking the time to write.

  9. My first thought on the jeans was they’re really similar to the aubergine ones, but maybe I’d have to see them together to decide if it’s worth keeping both? I like all 3 tops. If you think the sweater is too short I’d skip it.

  10. Your stitch fix box was a good one! I tried them once, and didn’t have a lot of success, but I may have to try them again. Anyway, my favorites are the last 2 looks. I agree with the others, that you should keep the jeans. 🙂 You look great and thanks for all your awesome posts and for being real!

  11. Ho JoLynne—I love the jeans and black top on you. Not a fan of the floral blouse–like someone else mentioned it’s too cutesy. I love the styling of the grey sweater but I agree with you that it seems too short in the front and in keep in mind the fabric content and that it may shrink when washed.

  12. Really cute this month! But $128 for the shoes! I just bought a pair off Amazon for $88! and they were on Prime so the shipping was free. Good luck with deciding!

  13. What a great box! I really love the jeans…they are a terrific (and apparently versatile!) color and the frayed hem and zippers makes them very current. Plus they fit perfectly! I like the first top but it seems a touch on the big side for you? Maybe a tad too loose. And I like the sweater but it doesn’t stand out to me as so unique that you just have to keep it. The jeans are definitely the star of this box! And now I’m lusting for some burgundy jeans…uh-oh.

  14. What a great fix! I usually don’t like floral prints, but those colors look so pretty on you. I think the front dips down just enough to keep it from looking frumpy. The jeans are so cute and at that price I think they’d be worth keeping. Love the black top, really flattering. I would probably pass on the sweater. It looks a little short in the front and you may find yourself tugging on it throughout the day. If not, it s a lovely color and I like the detailing.

    1. Right after I posted, I spotted your Insta pic at the bottom with the black moto jacket from the other day. I bet that jacket would look so great with these burgundy jeans! Maybe with a casual gray or black t-shirt? I can’t remember the zipper colors on the jacket so that might be an issue…

      1. Ooooh! I do like the idea, but the jacket has silver zippers. That would probably bother me, lol. I do have a bone colored faux leather moto jacket that would be pretty with these jeans tho. I can’t remember what color hardware it has, but I don’t think there’s a lot.

  15. Boy Jo-Lynne, You did get a great box of goodies. I love the jeans and the black top the best. I’d be on the fence about the other two tops.

    I actually wondered why your post was late showing up today. Ha!

    Have a great day!

  16. i think you should keep the printed blouse it is gorgeous………….i would keep the jeans, but if you have a similar pair, probably not then. The black top is ok……….sorta boring 🙂

  17. I like all the pieces, but I have to disagree with some of the other ladies. I think the first outfit is my favorite! I think it looks fantastic on you! You just have to keep those jeans. They are perfect for you.

    I may just try for another Fix myself. My first one missed the mark a bit, but I know if I don’t try it again, it can’t get any better!

  18. Stitch fix is so odd, I have the exact top from them and I received it fall 2014! Then I was all excited w a sweatshirt type top I received last winter, saw someone in our FB group wearing it and she said it was from stitch fix 2 years ago?!?! That said, black top looks great on u and is so versitile. I think you have better versions of everything else.

  19. I received the same floral top a few stitches ago and LOVE it! I did get a pair of burgundy jeans similar but not same that I kept too! Love all these pieces on you!

  20. I love those jeans on you! Although you have a pair in a similar color, these have the side zippers, and frayed hem. Super cute! And they truly look amazing on you. I love the black top, and the sweater! The floral top is pretty, but isn’t my favorite. You’re stunning!

  21. I jeans look really great on you, and I love the color. I do wonder, however, how long they will be in style with both the frayed hem and the zippers. Not a bad price for a trendy piece. I just try to buy pieces that will not outdate quickly. I really like the gray sweater with the jeans, but I agree that a little longer in the front would be better. I’m sure you have another gray sweater that will look fantastic. I’m on the fence with the black top. Doesn’t wow me. The floral top is a big NO.

  22. Love the burgundy jeans on you–fit so nice!! I also like the black top and the gray sweater. I couldn’t really tell where it hit you in the front–but my first thought when I saw the picture was how pretty you look in it and I liked it paired with the burgundy pants.

  23. I agree with you aliH! StickFix seems to recycle clothing from years past…maybe the things no one else wants? My friend received a pair of jeans this summer that I sent back 2 1/2 years ago!
    Jo-Lynn, I like your Paige Verdugo jeans much better! They’re a much prettier color and not so “bright”. I agree with the other posters…yes to the black top and NO to the floral top and grey sweater!

  24. My favorite is the black top with jeans. You look fantastic in that. Love the fit. The only thought I would have on the jeans is that you are limited with the zippers on how you would wear them. The zipper would probably hurt inside boots and you can’t roll them if needed for booties. But love the color of them! On a separate note, have you ever tried Hollywood tape strips? I use it for shirts that have a neckline that gaps or I am afraid I’ll show too much when I bend over. It’s awesome! You can get it on amazon. I tried to post a link below, not sure if it will work though.

    https://www.amazon.com/Hollywood-Fashion-Tape-HFT-TAT/dp/B0006IO3NG/ref=sr_1_2_a_it?ie=UTF8&qid=1473866670&sr=8-2&keywords=hollywood+tape

  25. I think the jeans are adorable. I think you’d wear them. I’d get the black top as well! It’s a great back drop for all your nice accessories.

  26. The jeans are a hit! Like that cute zipper detail! Since you asked, NO to the print top! The others are just ok. I’m not loving these floral tops and dresses this fall! Old lady looking, in my opinion!

  27. Love Love Love the jeans!!! Also like the floral and black tops, not crazy about sweater, although it does look nice with the jeans!

  28. I actually stopped using Stitch Fix once you got me hooked on Trunk Club. Perhaps I should give them another go…

    1. I like the Trunk Club quality better, but I always find cute new things with Stitch Fix, and I do think they’re working on their quality assurance. It’s fun to try different vendors. 🙂

  29. Hi JoLynne,

    My vote is to keep the Black Hawthorne shirt and the burgundy jeans. That outfit looks the best and you could add a great moto jacket as it gets colder. I think you have already styled one previously. The rest of the fix is just okay.

    Enjoy your day and thanks for sharing the new fall fashions with us all.

  30. You obviously don’t have to pay for these clothes. Most eomdn I know can’t afford to psy $68 for a sweater and $188 for jeans plus over $100 for a purse and God knows how much for shods & jewelry too. And then you make comments lke well thd jeans aren’t premium denim but then they were only $88. Must be nice to be able to have all these “affordable” cloghes. Guess I won’t ve following you anymore.

    1. Hi Mindy. I know there is a lot of curiosity around how fashion blogging works, and I’m happy to remove the veil for you and others following along. It shouldn’t be a mystery. I actually do pay for these clothes (although I do not keep them all.) I would say that 90% of the clothing featured on my blog I have bought and paid for. When something is given to me, I say so in the post and I use the c/o Brand in the links at the end. Also, anything given to me by a brand is considered income, and I have to pay taxes on it… so not really free, but even so, the point of a brand sending clothes to bloggers isn’t to feed our greed (as I’ve seen said many times in other forums) but it is part of their marketing strategy, and it provides the blogger with content for her site, which is a business that involves all the expenses and responsibilities of being self employed. I go out of my way to be honest and transparent about how my job works as well as the work that goes into keeping up my website and creating content 6 days a week. If you (or anyone else) has any questions about it, feel free to ask.

      As far as the price point of my clothes, there is a wide range of economic levels in the world. Not everyone has the same budget, and there are fashion and shopping blogs for everyone. You certainly don’t need to follow me if you don’t find my blog relevant to you. Many women following along do pay $68 for a sweater and $188 for jeans. Others choose to take my ideas and recreate them at a price point that suits their budget. It is not for any of us to judge how another woman spends her money.

      There is definitely a quality difference in a pair of $88 jeans and a pair of $188 jeans. I’d personally rather have 1 pair of $188 jeans than 2 pairs of $88 jeans… or better yet, wait for the $188 jeans to go on sale, which is what I usually do and recommend my readers to do. They will last 3x as long and generally look and feel better too. I do realize that not everyone has the budget for $188 jeans, but part of my job is informing my readers about fit and quality and value of the items I present and comparing the items at different price points so each woman reading can make up her own mind about how to spend her budget wisely. That is why I made the reference about the prices of jeans. I hope that clears some things up. 🙂

  31. Definitely keep the black top.Super cute! I think your Paige burgundy jeans are much nicer looking and the ankle detail on these will date quickly. To me, the floral top is matronly, especially if it’s’ polyester….it just looks a bit grandma. The gray sweater, I could go either way – but there are so many gray sweaters out there, I’d hold out for one you really love.

  32. I got the floral top 3 fixes ago and I love it, also got the black dolman in last fix! I wonder if I will get the jeans in my next one. LOL. But I also bought the Paige aubergine jeans in the N sale so kinda hoping that I don’t get them. Funny because I don’t think we have similar styles or body styles. And don’t let the nay-sayers talk you out of the blouse. You have to see it in person to see how lovely (and non-matronly) it is.

  33. I love the jeans. I too have the Paige ones and I think the Stitch Fix ones look different enough to keep both. The black top and floral top are my favorites. I like the style of the grey sweater, just not the color.

  34. I just got a pair of burgundy ankle pants at Loft and was looking for some ways to style them so thank you for the inspiration! I particularly like them styled with your charcoal sweater! Really a pretty combination! I can’t seem to stay away from grey, though!!!

  35. I love your fix! Especially the sweater and the jeans.
    I received the same Pistola jeans but in Olive. They were actually the only thing I kept from my box. I really love them. I’m digging that color too.

Want More?