Fall Stitch Fix Review / September 2016

Hey guys! Today’s post is a little different. I got a new Fix in the mail this week so I thought I’d do a Stitch Fix Review.

In case you’re not familiar, Stitch Fix is a subscription box service. You’re assigned a personal stylist who gets to know your taste and what you’re looking for. They send you 5 items to try, and you only pay for what you keep. There is a $20 styling fee that gets applied to your purchase, so if you don’t keep anything, you lose it, but I don’t think I’ve ever had a box where I didn’t keep at least one piece.

It’s a fun way to try new things, and some of their brands aren’t sold anywhere else, so you’re not going to go to work and see someone wearing the exact same blouse — unless, of course, they use Stitch Fix too! LOL!!! But that’s never happened to me.


Fall Stitch Fix Review / September 2016: Hand Selected Fashion At Your Doorstep!

Everything in my box was for fall, and I was able to create 3 outfits from it. I love it when everything coordinates! I hate to get a box and love a piece of clothing but have nothing to wear with it, but my stylist sent me a box that all worked together. It even came with shoes, although I didn’t photograph them because they were too small, and I didn’t want to wear them outside to get scuffed up because they’re going back.

The rest of the box was a perfect fit, and I’m having a hard time deciding what to keep and what to decline. You’ll have to let me know what you think. In the interest of full disclosure, I’m not working with Stitch Fix, but I do use my affiliate link when I’m linking to them (as I do when I link to other retailers) so I make a small commission when anyone new signs up.

Let’s get this party started!

Fall Stitch Fix Review

Here’s outfit #1. This is the Collective Concepts Minden Pleat Detail Blouse with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans. The blouse is $68 and the jeans are $88.

September 2016 Fall Stitch Fix Review featuring Collective Concepts Minden Pleat Detail Blouse with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans.

I thought this floral top was really cute for a change, and florals are a hot trend this fall. I love the tab detail on the arm and the placket on the front in the solid blue that matches. As y’all know, I prefer an open neckline, and this is open without being too revealing.

September 2016 Fall Stitch Fix Review featuring Collective Concepts Minden Pleat Detail Blouse with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans.

It has a pretty pleat detail at the back of the neck, and the hem dips in the back, but it’s straight across the front.

September 2016 Fall Stitch Fix Review featuring Collective Concepts Minden Pleat Detail Blouse with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans.

I think I’d like it better if it were a little more structured, but it’s really cute and the relaxed fit is nice for those days when you’re feeling like you could use a little extra grace, if you know what I mean… LOL!

September 2016 Fall Stitch Fix Review featuring Collective Concepts Minden Pleat Detail Blouse with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans.

These jeans go with all three tops they sent me. I love the color, and they have a great fit. The frayed hem and ankle zip are cute details, and they are very flattering. They definitely don’t feel like premium denim, but then they’re $88 and not $188, so there’s that. If I didn’t have the aubergine Paige skinny jeans from the #NSale, I would definitely keep these, but I think the colors are too close to justify keeping both. I actually like this color better than the aubergine, though. It’s brighter, and I can see it being more versatile.

September 2016 Fall Stitch Fix Review featuring Collective Concepts Minden Pleat Detail Blouse with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans.

Next up is the 41Hawthorn Queensland Dolman Jersey Top with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans. Top is $48, and it is soooo stretchy and soft and comfortable. This one is definitely a keeper.

September 2016 Fall Stitch Fix Review featuring 41Hawthorn Queensland Dolman Jersey Top with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans

I like the wide neckline. It’s flattering without being revealing at all. I have another shirt very similar to this that I got from Stitch Fix a year or so ago, and I love it too, but it has a deep V-neck that is flattering, but it’s also a bit of a liability. I have to be careful not to bend over in front anyone lest I give them a peep show! This one is nice because I don’t have that concern. It’s very easy to wear, and I like having several plain black tops in my wardrobe because they go with so much.

September 2016 Fall Stitch Fix Review featuring 41Hawthorn Queensland Dolman Jersey Top with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans

I really like the black paired with these burgundy jeans. Ahhh… I may be talking myself into keeping these jeans after all!

September 2016 Fall Stitch Fix Review featuring 41Hawthorn Queensland Dolman Jersey Top with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans

Finally, this is the RD Style Iana Twisted Seam Sweater for $68, also with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans.

September 2016 Fall Stitch Fix Review featuring RD Style Iana Twisted Seam Sweater with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans

I really love the seam details in this sweater, and the marled knit is always fun. I like how it brings in both tan and grey so you can go either way in your accessories. It’s also super cute with dark wash blue jeans, but I just threw it on with these jeans for this post, and it works with them too.

September 2016 Fall Stitch Fix Review featuring RD Style Iana Twisted Seam Sweater with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans

It’s got a heavy feel to it, so it hangs nicely without clinging. It’s almost too short for me in the front. I wish it didn’t dip quite so much from front to back. It might lay better on someone who isn’t quite so well endowed, ahem. But despite that, I love the knit and the seam detailing so I’m on the fence with this one.

September 2016 Fall Stitch Fix Review featuring RD Style Iana Twisted Seam Sweater with the Pistola Caterina Frayed Hem Ankle Zip Skinny Jeans

Also shown: Tory Burch ballet flats // Rebecca Minkoff Large Suki Crossbody // Panacea Beaded Circle Pendant // Stella & Dot Becker Cuff and Engravable Disk Necklace // Kate Spade sunnies

By the way, the shoes from Stitch Fix that aren’ t shown are the black SeaVees Baja Calf-Hair Sneakers for $128. They were a half size too small for me, and I wasn’t crazy about the black calf hair — it looked a little too alive for me, lol. I did like the easy slip-on sneaker, though. I wouldn’t mind having a pair of shoes in that style that this fall.

So what do you think??? I’d love to hear which pieces you think I should keep.

And be sure to visit Cyndi and see the fall outfit she’s styling today!

Did you like this post?

Sign up for my Daily Emails, and you’ll never miss a thing! You can also follow along on Instagram for my daily outfits and sneak peeks of what’s to come on the blog. Be sure to register with LIKEtoKNOW.it so you can shop my outfits first! 

This post contains affiliate links. For more information on what that means, see my About Page: Blog Monetization and Disclosure.